Scheduling Compliance by State

We've listed below any states that have specific laws around scheduling to help keep you compliant as you schedule shifts. Please note that this information does not constitute legal guidance, and is only meant to serve as a resource for you. If you'd like to learn more, all corresponding state webpages are linked.

Scheduling Law
California Workers employed in professional, technical, clerical, mechanical, and similar occupations who work a split shift may receive 1 hour's pay at the minimum wage, in addition to the minimum wage for that workday, except when the employee resides at the place of employment; the additional hour of split-shift pay need not be included in computing the RRP.
Hawaii No employer shall employ any employee in split shifts unless all of the shifts within a 24-hour period fall within a period of 14 consecutive hours, except in case of extraordinary emergency.
District of Columbia Employer shall pay the employee for 1 additional hour at the minimum wage for each day during which the employee works a split shift. This provision is not applicable to an employee who lives on the premises of the employer.
New York Employers must compensate employees with 1 hour's pay at the minimum wage rate, in addition to the minimum wage if there is a split shift.

Was this answer helpful?  

Still need our help? Our support team is waiting to help you. Contact us